Please give us 24 hours notice for a cancellation so we have time to re book it. Cancellation within 24 hours may result in a charge and will depend on the ability to re book the vessel. No shows and no explanations on top peak days and holidays (for example - July 4) will result in a full charge to the credit card given at the time of the booking.×
• Cooler box full of what you like eat and drink !!
• Cell Phone - so we can contact you and you can keep track of time.
• Credit Card/money
• Photo ID
• If you wish to fish then a Florida Salt Water fishing license.Half Hitch Tackle(1/4 mile down the 98 from us) or Walmart (3 miles) can sell you one.
• Sun Screen, Sunglasses, Towels.....it's hot out there !!!
• Camera (Waterproof!!)
Last but not least .....A big smile and sunny disposition..you ARE going to have a great day !!!
Florida Law States:
If the driver of the pontoon boat or Jet ski or any watercraft over 10hp is born on or after January 1, 1988; we are required to ask to see a boating safety education identification card issued by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission or the equivalent from another state.
If you do not possess a boating safety education card you can either :
1) Take a Temporary Certificate test down at the Blue Crab Water Sports booth. (Lasts for one year)
2) Follow the links on the Destin Info page on this site entitled "Official Boater Safety Education course" (Lasts a lifetime).Costs vary.
If you are going to continue to rent watercraft year on year we recommend that you take the lifetime test. That date is set so if you need one this year you will need one next...and the year after that!!!
The temporary card requires you to read some information and then take a 25 question test.
It usually takes about 15 to 25 mins so please bear that in mind when turning up to pick up your craft.
You will also need to bring with you :
1) A valid driving license
2) The fee for the test - $3
1. The name and age of the driver of the watercraft (to ascertain if a permit is required i.e. anyone born on or after Jan 1 1988)
2. A valid credit card number to hold the Boat/Jetski or watercraft for your time slot
3. At the booth you will need ID to prove the age of the boat/jetski driver.
Florida weather, like all weather can be unpredicatable, so we can never guarantee what it will be like during the time of your rental. However we value our customers more than we do the rental income!!!
So we will never send you out when it is dangerous!!
If you feel the weather will not work out for you we will try to reschedule you, based on availability.
If the weather suddenly changes when you are on the water, we will do our best to contact you to warn you BEFORE it becomes dangerous (hence why you need to take cell phone with you), otherwise head back to the dock until the danger passes. (Storms normally only last 30 mins!)
If you are going to fish then you will need a license (available from Walmart or Half hitch tackle 1/4 mile away from Blue Crab Water Sports.
Unless you meet the following criteria:
1. Any child under 16 years of age.
2. Any resident who is a member of the United States Armed Forces and not stationed in this state, when home on leave for 30 days or less, upon submission of orders.
3. Any resident 65 years of age or older who has in her or his possession proof of age and residency or a no-cost Florida Resident Senior Citizen license. A no-cost license may be obtained from any tax collector's office upon proof of age and residency and must be in the possession of the resident during hunting, freshwater fishing, and saltwater fishing activities.
Our boats are 24ft long so they only carry 12 people whilst it is under way so if you have more than 12 people then either rent a second boat or organise a "ferry service" from the beach near crab island.
Although alcohol is allowed on the boat. Like driving on the road you can get a ticket for BUI (Boating under the influence) !!!
Just make sure you have a designated driver!!
Warning - It is a violation of Florida law to operate a vessel while impaired by alcohol or other drugs. If pulled over, a vessel operator suspected of boating under the influence must submit to sobriety tests and a physical or chemical test to determine blood or breath alcohol content.
In Florida, a vessel operator is presumed to be under the influence if their blood or breath alcohol level is at or above .08
Any person under 21 years of age who is found to have a breath alcohol level of .02 or higher and operates or is in actual physical control of a vessel is in violation of Florida law.
Of course we allow dogs but please be aware as much as we love dogs, you the renter, are responsible for any damage that they may cause to the watercraft and we hold no responsiblity as to the animals ability to swim or be controlled once on the watercraft.
I have yet to see a cat that stays anywhere near sensible near water!! So probably best not try!
To rent any water craft you must be over 18 and able to sign the contract.
If you are over 16 but under 18 you can have a parent or legal guardian to sign on your behalf and accept responsibilty.... as long as you are over 16 and can prove it with a Student Card or photo ID
It is at our discretion to rent any watercraft to anyone young or old.
If you can not swim we recommend you wear one !
Any child under the age of six (6) must wear a U.S.C.G. approved flotation device (PFD) while onboard a vessel under 26
feet in length while the vessel is underway. "Underway" is defined as anytime except when the vessel is anchored, moored,
made fast to the shore, or aground. Each person operating, riding on, or being towed behind a personal watercraft must wear
a U.S.C.G approved personal flotation device (PFD). Inflatable personal flotation devices are prohibited for personal
watercraft use. Each person operating or riding a kayak must wear a U.S.C.G approved personal flotation device (PFD)
Canines?? - if they lack the necessary skills for the simple "doggie paddle" then we recommend they wear one too !!
You are not allowed to go into the Gulf of Mexico or the East Pass with any of our equipment.
You may go anywhere you like in the Choctawhatchee bay, which includes the Destin Harbor & any of the bayous.
Crab Island is a shallow part of the Bay just beyond the Westside of the Destin Bridge. It takes you only 10 mins to get there by our pontoons.
As many as 200 boats can end up being moored out there! So you can imagine the fun that can be had hanging out & socializing on Crab Island
This is where everyone will spend the day on the water. Crab Island depth can range from 2 to 10 feet deep, depending on where you anchor.
We recommend getting there early if you want to be in the thick of things!!
During the season vendors on tiny boats sell everything from pizza, ice cream, boiled peanuts to steamed shrimp. There is also a restaurant/snack barge selling hamburgers and fast food.
For the kids there are huge inflatables...Water trampoline, Slides and other forms of fun! Sometimes, there is a party barge out there with live bands to add to the atmosphere.
So what more could you ask for in a Sun packed, fun packed day !!!!!
Ample Car parking is available in the Marina Cafe Car Park right above Blue Crab Water Sports of Destin×